Islamic, Jewish and Christian Calendars

Islamic, Jewish and Christian Calendars

Here we are going to provide you some interesting information about the calendars of major three Abrahamic Religions that are Islam, Christianity, and Judaism. Every religion has its own calendar and history.

Islamic Calendar

The Islamic calendar is also known as the Hijri calendar as it started from the year in which Prophet Muhammed Peace be upon him migrated (Hijra) from Mecca to Medina.

  • The Islamic calendar is based on the lunar cycle and every month is marked on the base of the phases of the moon
  • The Second Caliph Umar R.A  was the first person who started numbering the years of the Islamic calendar from the year of the Hijra.
  • The Islamic calendar has 12 months and year cycle comprises 354 days
  • A new day in the Islamic calendar starts at sunset.
  • All Islamic events are observed based on the Islamic calendar.
  • The 12 Islamic months in the Islamic calendar are Muharram, Safar, Rabi’ al-awwal, Rabi’ al-Thani, Jumada al-awwal, Jumada al-Thani, Rajab, Sha’aban, Ramadan, Shawwal, Dhu al-Qi’ dah and Dhu al-Hijjah.

Jewish Calendar

  • The Jewish calendar (Hebrew calendar) is a lunisolar calendar  which means that it is based on phases of the moon and the solar cycles.
  • The Hebrew calendar starts on creation which  happened around 3760 BC according to the Jewish religion
  • The Jewish Calendar can have at least 353 days and as many as 385 days in a year.
  • A new day in the Jewish calendar also starts at sunset as in Islamic Calendar.
  • This calendar also has twelve regular months which are named Nisan, Iyar, Sivan, Tammuz, Av, Elul, Tishrei, Marcheshvan, Kislev, Tevet, Shevat, and Adar.

Christian Calendar

  • The Gregorian calendar is also sometimes referred to as the Western or Christian calendar
  • The years in this calendar are based on the birth of prophet Essa Peace be Upon Him.  So, according to Christians, “AD 2007” literally means “in the 2007’th year since the birth of prophet Essa Peace be upon him.
  • Gregorian Calendar is most advanced for the Christian calendar as its other calendars were also introduced before the Gregorian calendar such as the Julian calendar. Gregorian calendar is most improved from the earlier versions. The last modification was named after Pope Gregory XIII
  • The Gregorian calendar consists of 12 months, and 365 days and about 6 hours. The additional 6 hours are adjusted in the form of an additional day in every fourth year called “Leap Year” which consists of 366 days. In leap year the February consists of 29 days instead of 28 days. The other months in Gregorian Calendar either comprises 30 days or 31 days.
  • A new day in the Gregorian calendar starts at midnight (12:00am).
  • Gregorian calendar is the most widely used calendar in the world.


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *