Almost all of the laws that govern a Muslim’s life are mentioned in the Quran, including laws pertaining to worship, trading and economy, marriage and divorce, inheritance, social etiquettes, family responsibilities, government, war, and international politics.
These laws are often just mentioned in the Quran in general terms, sometimes revealing the wisdom behind them, and their detailed explanations and minor details are left for Prophet Muhammad to clarify and demonstrate.
Here we will discuss few common Examples of laws that are mentioned in the Quran:

Praying the five obligatory prayers

1. Early morning prayer (Fajr): two rak’ahs between dawn and sunrise
2. Noon prayer (Zuhur): four rak’ahs, between noon and mid-afternoon
3. Afternoon prayer (Asr): four rak’ahs. The time for prayer starts when the length of any object’s shadow reaches a factor (usually 1 or 2) of the length of the object itself plus the length of that object’s shadow at noon. The time for the prayer ends at sunset.
4. Sunset prayer (Maghrib): three rak’ahs between sunset and early evening
5. Evening prayer (Ishaa): four rak’ah from the disappearance of twilight until dawn

Fasting in Ramadan

Fasting in the month of Ramadan is one of the five pillars of Islam. Eating, drinking, and sexual activities are not allowed between Fajr and Maghrib. Fasting is considered an act of deeply personal worship in which Muslims seek a raised level of closeness to Allah.
Although fasting at Ramadan is obligatory, exceptions are made for persons in particular circumstances. Fasting during Ramadan is not obligatory for several groups for whom it would be excessively problematic, among them people with a medical condition and the elderly.


The following verse from Quran will enable you to understand the word “Dowry” per Quranic law:
“You should give the women their due dowries, equitably. If they willingly forfeit anything then you may accept it; it is rightfully yours.” [4:4]
Dowry is a pre-requisite for a marriage that is to be paid by the husband to his wife which should be equitable. The husband and wife can mutually make adjustments to the dowry. Forfeiting of the dowry doesn’t apply to believers.

Paying Zakat

Paying zakat purifies, increases,s and blesses the remainder of one’s wealth. Zakat is also a spiritual connection to one’s creator- to purify wealth for the will of Allah is to acknowledge that everything we own belongs to Him, and it is for Him that we strive to end poverty and help our brothers and sisters.

Zakat is 2.5% of the wealth that has been in one’s possession for a lunar year. If wealth amounts to less than the threshold figure, termed the nisab, then no Zakat is payable. If wealth amounts to more than the nisab, zakat becomes obligatory.

Doing ablution for prayer

Allah says in the Quran:
“Oh you who believe! When you prepare for prayer, wash your face, and your hands (and arms) to the elbows; rub your heads and your feet to the ankles. If you are in a state of ceremonial impurity, bath your whole body. But if you are ill or on a journey, or one of you comes from an act of nature, or you have been in contact with woman, and you don’t find water- then take for yourselves clean sand or earth, and rub your face and hands. Allah doesn’t wish to place you in difficulty, but to make you clean, and to complete His favor to you, that you may be grateful.” [5:6]

Performing Hajj and Umrah

Hajj is an annual Islamic pilgrimage to Mecca, the holiest city for Muslims. Hajj is a mandatory religious duty for Muslims that must be carried out at least once in their lifetime by all adults.
Muslims who are physically and financially capable of undertaking the journey, and can support their family during their absence.

The waiting period after divorce

In Islam, Iddah is the period a woman must observe after the death of her husband or after a divorce, during which she may not marry another man. The length of iddah varies according to a number of circumstances. Generally, the iddah of a divorced woman is three months but if the marriage was not consummated there is no iddah.

For a woman whose husband has died, the iddah is four lunar months and ten days the death of her husband. If a woman is pregnant when she is widowed or divorced, the iddah lasts until she gives birth.